top of page

2018 Excellence in Design Awards

Honor Award

Zuni Pueblo Housing Needs Assessment


Category: Unbuilt

Firm: Atkin Olshin Schade

Architect: Shawn Evans AIA

Jury Comments:

The most innovative of the projects and highly deserving of recognition: this truly innovative design for a mobile computing app and database on living conditions for the Zuni tribe utilizes skills architects have to improve lives. This project demonstrates that architecture can be about design thinking, smart technology and collaboration, not just about aesthetics. This projects gives self-sufficiency and self-determination to members of the tribe. 

Zuni Photo #1.jpg
Merit Award

Grey Wolf


Category: Single Family Residential

Firm: Unger Associates Architects PC

Architect: Kim Unger AIA

Owner: Tobiason/Reiter

General Contractor: Unger Corporation

Photographer: Peter Ogelvie

Jury Comments:

A nicely organized plan integrating intermediary buffer zones in the entry and gallery spaces. Proportion and placement of glazing is well balanced from the outside. From the inside, openings nicely frame views while carefully controlling natural light. The reflectiveness of the interior plaster walls creates luminous interior spaces.

Tobiason Residence Photo #1.jpg
Tobiason Residence Photo #2.jpg
Citation Award

Transformer Studio


Category: Interior Architecture

Firm: Autotroph

Architect: Alexander Dzurec, AIA

Owner: Barker Property Management

Photographer:  Alexander Dzurec

Jury Comments:

The clean articulation of the metal conference room 'box' plays nicely off of interior wood finishes. Balance between solid and light is enhanced by the skylight. Interior light is nicely filtered from the skylight through the trusses.


Transformer Studio Photo #1.jpg
Transformer Studio Photo #2.jpg
2018 Design Jury

Ingalill Wahlroos-Ritter FAIA Chair

Mark Lahmon, AIA

Catherine Johnson, AIA

Rebecca Rudolph, AIA



bottom of page