top of page

2023 Honor Awards Recipients

The Turquoise Medal


Steve Oles 2.19.16.jpg

"The Turquoise Medal is given in recognition of distinguished service to the profession of architecture, and/or in acknowledgement of a significant body of work that has had lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture in Santa Fe and beyond.

Paul Stevenson Oles FAIA meets all these qualifications. 

Steve’s list of career highlights is remarkably long, and if you don’t believe me just Google him!

His work as an architect, educator, author, and of course architectural illustrator, is immeasurable and impeccable.

Steve is a member of the AIA College of Fellows, the Loeb Fellowship, and has rubbed shoulders with architects named Gropius, Pei, and many others.

He has had teaching stints at Harvard, Yale, MIT, the Rhode Island School of Design, and has authored four books.

He co-founded the American Society of Architectural Illustrators and established its Hugh Ferris Memorial Prize.

His work has been featured in exhibitions all o

ver the country. And someone along the way referred to him as ‘the father of American architectural illustration”.

Not to be outdone by technology, SketchUp has reproduced his iconic style in their software, made an avatar of his image, and produced a YouTube video titled “An architect who Got Side-Tracked."

And that is just the tip of the iceberg!

So tonight, I’m honored to present Paul Stevenson Oles the 2023 AIA Santa Fe Turquoise Medal."

Stanley Andrews AIA, 2023 Design Awards Chair

December 8,2023

The Architecture Firm Award


HA-Google-LOGO-RGB 4.2.24.jpg

"The Architectural Firm Award is based on these criteria: Design Excellence; Innovation; and Service.

This year’s recipient is Hoopes Architects.

This award-winning firm, led by Craig Hoopes AIA, infuses their designs with modernist principles of form and minimalism, and have become known for their sensitive renovation of historic structures.

Their work has been published in regional and national press, as well as in many books on Southwest architecture."

Stan Andrews,  2023 Design Awards Chair

December 8. 2023

The Associate Award

Associate AIA

Ellen Tucker 6.25.21.jpeg

"The Associate Award is in recognition of leadership and service to the profession. This year’s recipient is Ellen Tucker Associate AIA.

Ellen has shown leadership in her project work for the firm Spears Horn Architects, as well as in AIA Santa Fe, AIA New Mexico, and AIA National, and has proven to be a thoughtful, direct, and efficient designer who will better the lives of all she impacts, now and into the future."

Stand Andrews AIA 2023 Design Awards Chair

December 8, 2023

The Architectural Service Award


Sibylle Mueller 6.28.16.jpg

"The Architectural Service Award is in recognition of individuals or groups who have demonstrated significant accomplishments in stimulating public understanding and appreciation of architecture in the Santa Fe community. 


This year’s recipient is Sybille Mueller AIA.

Sybille has crafted the high-quality education and event activities we have all enjoyed over recent years. Her sense of quality design, commitment to an ethos of professional and environmental responsibility, and care for people has directly benefited AIA Santa Fe members.


By inviting interested public and Allied members to join AIA Santa Fe in these events, the public's understanding of architects and design has expanded."

Stan Andrews, AIA 2023 Design Awards Chair

December 8, 2023

bottom of page