top of page

2022 Honor Awards Recipients

The Turquoise Medal


Beverley Spears 4.26.16 (537x640).jpg

"The Turquoise Medal is given in recognition of distinguished service to the profession of architecture, and/or in acknowledgement of a significant body of work that has had lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture in Santa Fe.

Beverley Spears FAIA meets all these qualifications:

By her distinguished service to the profession of architecture as a member of the AIA College of Fellows and as Past President of AIA Santa Fe.

By her significant body of work as an multi award-winning Santa Fe architect with her firm since 1981.

And by her research and publication of the books American Adobes and Early Churches of Mexico: An Architect’s View.

I’m honored to present Beverley Spears the 2022 AIA Santa Fe Turquoise Medal."

Stanley Andrews AIA, 2022 Chapter President

December 9 2022

The Architecture Firm Award


MASS. 12.10.22.png

"The inaugural Architecture Firm Award was judged based on three criteria:

Design Excellence, Innovation, and Service.


The winner of this year’s Architecture Firm Award has demonstrated a consistent dedication to meaningful community service and notable contributions to the profession of Architecture.  


It is a firm that has been a consistent advocate for community-based design in northern New Mexico. Their work in Santa Fe has always been responsive to their clients’ needs and sensitive to its context.


An expert in sensitive adaptation of historic buildings, and an adopter of the 2030 Challenge, this firm has proven to be exceptional group of individuals who do extraordinary things."

Kristen Fox, AIA 2021 Chapter President and 2022 Design Awards Chair

December 9, 2022

The Associate Award

Associate AIA

Luca pic.jpeg

"This individual has served as AIA Santa Fe Associate Director.


He spent countless hours volunteering his time and design skills for the 2017 Biannual AIA State Conference, hosted in Santa Fe.


He exemplifies an entrepreneurial spirit while continuously dedicating time for service to the design and architecture community.


The Executive Committee of the AIA Santa Fe chapter has unanimously voted to bestow this award to Luca Marino-Baker."

Kristen Fox AIA, 2021 Chapter President and 2022 Design Awards Chair

December 9, 2022

bottom of page