top of page

Design Awards + Honors 

Design Awards and Honors Logo 12.17.22.png
This annual event celebrates the year in architecture.   An outstanding jury chosen from top level professionals from outside of New Mexico selects the finest projects created by Chapter members.  The Honor Awards, for Distinguished Service to the profession, are also presented at this time.

Design Awards

Honor Award

Presented to an architect or firm for a project  demonstrating exemplary design

Merit Award

Presented to an architect or firm for a project demonstrating  outstanding design

Commendation Award

Presented to an architect or firm for a project  demonstrating solid design principles

Honor Awards

Architectural Service Award

Given to individuals or groups who have demonstrated significant accomplishments in stimulating public understanding and appreciation of architecture in the Santa Fe community.

Recipients may be members or non members of AIA Santa Fe, and are chosen by the Executive Committee of the Chapter.

AIA Santa Fe Turquoise Medal

Given in recognition of distinguished service to the profession of architecture, and/or in acknowledgment of a significant body of work that has had lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture in Santa Fe.

Any Architect member of AIA Santa Fe in good standing is eligible to be considered for the Medal.  Recipients are chosen by the Executive Commitee of the Chapter.

Architectural Firm Award

The Firm Award is based on these criteria; the recipient is selected by the Executive Committee of the Chapter:

Design Excellence - The quality and aesthetic of the designs produced by the firm. The expression of purpose and function, relation to its surroundings, and the inspiring nature of the designs and built forms presented.
Innovation - The implementation of technologies or novel solutions for challenging problems to achieve design and sustainability goals.
Service - The consistent dedication to meaningful community service and notable contributions to the profession of Architecture.  

Associate Award

Any Associate member of the Chapter in good standing at the entry deadline may submit a visual presentation of their design work, demonstration of leadership, and service to the profession in any format that can presented electronically. 

The Executive Committee will set the Award criteria and select the recipient.

2023 Awards Sponsors

New Sto Logo 12.5.16.jpg
Arch Windows + Loewen 7.25.16.png
Sierra West Sales 2.19.19.jpg

2023 Dinner Sponsors

Gayla Bechtol and Ed Mazria
2018 Design Awards
La Posada
2016 Design Awards
2017 Design Awards
James Horn
Jon Dick
2018 Design Awards
Craig Hoopes #1
2017 Design Awards
Jon Dick Congrats!
John Padilla 2017 Turquoise Medal
Hotel Santa Fe
Ra Patterson
Luchini + Trujillo
Luchini Trujillo Structural Engineers PNG.png
Building Trade Specialties Inc Logo 11.7.22.jpg
RJ Dean 11.27.23.jpg
Victoria at Home 11.21.23.jpeg
Acacia Black Logo Transparent Background 11.29.23.png
bottom of page