top of page

2012 Excellence in Design Awards

Honor Award
Modern Ruin

Architect: Autotroph

Owner/Builder: Zane Fischer

Category: Single Family Residential

Merit Award

Architect: Autotroph

Category: Unbuilt

Citation Awards
Santa Fe Community
Convention Center

Architect: Fentress Architects +

                  Spears Architects

Owner: City of Santa Fe

Contractor: Cameron Swinterton

Category: Commercial

El Paso House

Architect: Archaeo Architects

Owners: Jeremy and Heather Cuthberson

Category: Unbuilt

Easter Seals
Santa Maria El Mirador

Architect: AOS Architects

Owner: Easter Seals

Contractor: Reid and Associates

Category: Commercial

Van Drimmelen/Gore Residence

Architect: Archaeo Architects

Owners: John Van Drimmelen

               and Shelly Gore

Contractor: Frank Gonzales

Category: Single Family Residential

Design Awards Jury

Chair, Emily Little, FAIA - Clayton and Little Architects

Emily Little is an expert in historic preservation with a special focus on the adative reuse of existing structures.  Her portfolio includes new residential work and additions, historic renovations, and commercial adaptive reuse projects that demonstrate the ability to coax dynamic new spaces from worn and tired ones.  Her work is focused on the sensitive integration of new elements into an existing context in an artful manner.  She is the receipient of numerous desig awards at the local, state and national levels over the past 30 years of  practice, and was elevated to Fellowship in the AIA in 2009.

Jana McCann, AIA - McCann Adams Studio

​Jana McCann is an architect/urban designer and CEO of McCann Adams Studio.  Formerly with ROMA and prior to that, Urban Design Officer for the City of Austin, she has extensive experience in transit facility design and transit-oriented development planning, streetscape and public space design, historic preservation and adaptive reuse, as well as in management of large-scale civic projects.  Jana currently serves as President of the AIA Austin Chapter, and has been awarded numerous  honors for her collaborative and innovative efforts in the realm of public architecture and community service.

Stan Haas, FAIA - Stan Haas Architects

​Stan Haas has served as Design Principal and Director of Design at firms in New York, San Francisco, Dallas and Austin.  He was honored by the AIA in 2004 with his induction into the College of Fellows and his work has been published in local, regional and national publications.  Haas has served as lecturer at universities in California, Texas, and Mexico, and as a juror on awards programs at the local, regional and national levels.  Haas hs created exemplary buildings for 38 years, elevating modestly budgeted projects from the expected to the extraordinary.

Click here to read Jury Comments on the Award winners

bottom of page